Thunder Bay Main
Thunder Bay Main Lighthouse is an iconic feature of Thunder Bay’s waterfront, perched on the break water and marks one entrance to the Thunder Bay Harbour. Constructed after the 1887 CP Lighthouse was demolished, the lighthouse retains a familiar structure, seen in other locations in Canada, as it was taken from the Department of Transportation drawing drafted up in the later 1930’s. When constructed after the Second World War, the light was called the Port Arthur Central Entrance, which accommodated shipping traffic from around the world, moving grain from the dozen operational elevators at that time. Work is currently underway to make the light more accessible to visitors but until then, remains closed to the general public.